Thursday, May 14, 2009

New Alexander Hawkins Ensemble Cd out now on FMR Records.

The debut Alexander Hawkins Ensemble Cd featuring his new ensemble is released on FMR Records mixed, mastered,packaged and ready to go cased within a lovely cover photograph by his brother with Sleeve notes by Steve Beresford the long awaited release finally hits good stores and Gigs..Titled "No now is so" Check it out it's got some wonderful playing by a stellar cast of players from Alex himself on Piano duties and of course writing some excellent music as well as arranging music by composers like Anthony Braxton etc.The ensemble members are Spanish Drummer Javier Carmona on Drums,Otto Fischer Guitar,Dominic Lash on Double Bass and Hannah Marshall Cello and myself on Steel Pans and percussion duties. Recorded at the end of a critically acclaimed Uk tour last year the album catches the Ensemble at a crucial time in their developement!Anyway check it out and see what you think!

No comments: