Monday, July 06, 2009

Yolanda Charles and Dee C. Lee

Managed to catch a great set of music at the portobello rd gig 'Inn on the Green' last week from a Brilliant new band led by Bassist/vocalist Yolanda Charles and Vocalist Dee C Lee. The band called 'The Deep Mo' laid down some excellent compositions opposite the very promising new artist Lisa-Marie Falloon who had drum supremo Justin Pickett laying down the funk.Other musicians checking the band and venue out were Karl Van Den Bosch and Noel Mckoy.
The Deep Mo are the tightest of bands leaning towards the sound of the great 'Rufus' of Chaka Khan fame. but with a style and fresh sound of their own. Of course having four musicians of the calibre of Robert Mitchell on Keys,Miles Bould on drums and guitarist Scott Firth and Yolanda on Bass in any band you really do know your onto a winner, as they will always deliver music of the highest quality! Material included some taken from a debut EP out now that is an essential for anyone into good soulful sounds! Keep an ear out for any gigs around town, you will not be disapointed!

Louis Moholo Moholo new album launched tonight at the Vortex.

'An open letter to my wife Mpumi' is the title of the new album by Louis Moholo Moholo out on OGUN records.It sees a Sax front line of Ntshuks Bonga and Jason Yarde with John Edwards on Bass and the soulful South African pianist Pule Pheto plus myself on Vibes..Recorded at the later end of 2008 in the Solar powered recording studio at the Hackney Premises.The band play some new compositions by Pule and Jason..Following a couple of shows at the Vortex and an appearance at the EDGE 08 Cecil Taylor day at East london's Rich Mix venue the band had kicked into a new groove of cohesive expressions placed on a bed of funkiness!Not really but something even more interesting was happening resulting in a joyous celebration of the spirit that Louis brings to all musical excursions! Phew! Come along tonight to the Vortex in Dalston to see the band kick ass and present some of the music from the new album!